International Finance and Macroeconomics Program (IFM)


The IFM Program brings together researchers with interests in international finance and monetary economics. It encompasses empirical and theoretical analysis of issues related to international financial markets and institutions, international capital flows, and monetary policy spillovers and coordination. The IFM Program strives to bring together young as well as established researchers from the fields of international economics, finance, banking, and macroeconomics, to foster dialogue and collaboration on the topics of utmost policy relevance. By including both academics and researchers at central banks and other policy institutions and promoting their interaction, the Program seeks to pursue both excellence in cutting-edge research and its application to the most important policy-relevant questions. The program is led by its Director Galina Hale (Term 2016-2020) and an Advisory Committee of senior central bank and academic researchers.The current members of the Advisory Committee are:

Laura Alfaro, Harvard Business School (Term 2016-2020)

Stijn Claessens, Bank for International Settlements (Term 2016-2020)

Kristin Forbes, MIT Sloan (Term 2018-2022)

Linda Goldberg, Federal Reserve Bank of New York (Term 2018-2022)

Pierre-Olivier Gourinchas, UC Berkeley (Term 2016-2020)

Takatoshi Ito, U Columbia (Term 2017-2021)

Philip Lane, Central Bank of Ireland (Term 2017-2021)

Gian Maria Milesi-Ferretti , IMF (Term 2016-2020)

Neeltje Van Horen, Bank of England (Term 2016-2020)